Being in Tune to the Promptings of the Spirit

Mind-Heart-HolyGhost-JM

This week I shared with Jake a “Missionary Moment” I had over the weekend. Jake’s response about being in tune with the promptings of the Spirit will astound you. Be prepared to have your whole body tingle when you read this.

FIRST, HERE IS THE EXPERIENCE I SHARED WITH JAKE – FOLLOWED BY JAKE’S AMAZING RESPONSE:

“Hi Jake,

I hope you are well, and are enjoying your once-in-a-life-time experience of serving the Lord 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  This week I had a small reminder of the joy of sharing the gospel.

Yesterday we had a door-to-door pest control salesman come to our home selling a bug control service (ants, spiders, etc).  Robert and I got to talking, and the gospel came up. His boss is LDS, and he has enormous respect for his boss. It gave me an opportunity to share with him my testimony. I walked him through the Apostasy and the need for a Restoration of all things in these latter days. I helped him understand the need for modern-day apostles, and priesthood authority. I then walked him through the first vision, and the Joseph Smith story. He then asked about the Book of Mormon, and I explained what it was… but we then got interrupted, and I never got a chance to share with him why the Book of Mormon is so important, and I never got to a chance to bear my testimony about the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon; which I deeply regretted.

I woke up this morning, and this experience was the first thing that came to my mind. I then laid in bed for an hour thinking about what more I should have said. I wanted to tell Robert why the Book of Mormon was so important. I wanted to convey to him that the Book of Mormon is the cornerstone that the entire restoration of the gospel rests upon. It is the key to everything. The Lord brought forth the Book of Mormon in these latter days for one purpose… if the Book of Mormon is true, then Joseph Smith must have been a true prophet of God. And if Joseph Smith is a true prophet of God, then we may know of a surety that the true gospel of Jesus Christ has been restored in it’s fullness in these latter days, and that the heavens have re-opened, and that God is communicating with His children on earth again. And I regretted that I didn’t end our conversation with my testimony of the Book of Mormon.

After lying in bed, beating myself up, I got up, and went down stairs. No sooner had I done so than the door bell rang. I went to the door, and it was Robert. He felt compelled to come by to follow up with me on the service we had ordered through him yesterday, and to thank me for helping him understand more about the Church. The Lord had given me a second chance. I told him that I was glad that he came back, because I didn’t get an opportunity to conclude our conversation about my feelings and testimony of the Book of Mormon. I then shared with him the significance of the Book, and then bore my powerful testimony of it’s truthfulness. I could tell he was touched. He then told me that the missionaries had recently contacted him, and that he had not given it any further thought, until he spoke to me. He told me that he now planned to invite the missionaries to come back and study with him because of our conversation.

So there is my missionary moment.  It brought home great memories of my missionary days. I hope you realize how fortunate and blessed you are to have that constant feeling of pure joy in sharing the gospel message with our Heavenly Father’s children, and of having the constant companionship of the Holy Ghost.  It is a wonderful thing my son.

I love you. We pray for you every day. It is our prayer that the Lord watch over and protect you, and that He guide you by His Holy Spirit to those who He has prepared to receive the humble testimony of Jacob Cudney. May the Lord bless you, and keep you always. Remember, you are on the Lord’s errand. There is no greater call. Love the people of Pancá. Love the Lord. Be humble. Let His Spirit guide you.”

HERE IS JAKE’S RESPONSE:

“Hi Dad,

Your experience is one of those tender mercies from our Heavenly Father. It just goes to show that the Lord is constantly putting people in our paths whom He has prepared to receive our testimony. Perhaps Robert would never have felt the desire to study with the missionaries if you had not followed the promptings of the Holy Spirit in sharing your powerful testimony.

The Lord often guides us, through His Spirit, to those whom He has prepared for us to bring unto Him. Sadly we don’t always recognize these promptings from the Spirit, and we miss the opportunities to experience the joy of sharing the gospel with our brothers and sisters. Fortunately this week I did follow the promptings of the Spirit, and had an amazing experience.

On Saturday, for some strange reason that I did not understand at the time, I felt prompted to take my companion all the way out to the nearby village of San Louis. Again, I wasn’t sure at the time why we needed to go there, as we don’t currently have any investigators that the we are working with in San Louis. We arrived in San Louis, and went through the entire morning not knowing why we were there.  Just as we started to head back, two young boys began to pursue us, yelling for us to stop, as we climbed the mountain. When they caught up to us, they informed us that their father was wanting to talk with us. So we followed the boys back to their home.  When we arrived, their father met us at the door, and enthusiastically greeted us. As we began to interact, we learned that a few days back this man had had a dream, and in his dream he had lost his job. And in his dream, he was instructed to seek out the missionaries and invite them into his home. He said that there were two missionaries in his dream, with white shirts and ties; one was Latino, and the other was white.  He said that he couldn’t remember what the Latino missionary looked like in his dream, but he did remembered that the “gringo” missionary looked just like me.  He went on to explain that he had never paid much attention to his dreams in the past, until he actually ended up losing his job. Then when he saw us walk by his home, he knew that he had to invite us in. So he sent his boys to chase us down. He went on to explain that, in his dream, he had accepted the teachings of the missionaries, and the Lord ended up blessing him and his family more than ever before.

Dad, I have a firm testimony that the Lord places people in our paths. We just have to make sure we are in tune with the promptings of His Spirit so that we can be the instruments in His hands that He needs us to be… even when we don’t completely understand at the time why the Spirit is prompting us.”

Con amor, tu hijo, Jake

Leave a Reply

