Training the Greenie

Training is definitely helping me utilize members more often, so I don’t get stuck teaching all the lessons by myself. Even though my greenie companion’s ability to teach is pretty good for someone so new, he doesn’t have that much self-confidence yet. So when I signal to him that it his turn to talk during an actual lesson, he looks at me like a deer in the highlights. Funny, because he teaches the lessons during our training sessions back at the house, but I guess he get’s stage fright when it actually show time.

Now that I am training, it reminds me of how “flecha” missionaries are when they come straight out of the MTC. But greenies just do exactly what you tell them to do, se he is starting to loosen up a bit. Newbies are so dependant that if you don’t go to the bathroom first, they do not go. It makes me wonder if I was ever like that. Although it is kind of hard to stop your kid from speaking to you in English when you yourself are a gringo, the culture shock they experience makes it all worth it; especially for those from Utahtopia, like my companion, who have never been exposed to the real world in their whole lives.

  • Elder Johnson: “Are you sure it is safe holding onto the outside the bus?”
  • Me: ¨Just hold on tight and you will be fine.¨

In answer to your question… no, we never teach in English. I guess Derek and Taylor speak a lot of English in Spain because everyone there learns English. While here in Guatemala, people also learn English school, but it is taught by people who don’t even speak English themselves, so no one can speak English here…. Not even the ones who have lived in the U.S. for long periods of time. For that reason, here you would never have a church meeting in English, or give a lesson in English, unless by chance you find a gringo. In Spain there are lots of Africans and other Europeans, so the majority speak English.

That is funny that you should ask about whether I have met anyone with Down’s Syndrome, because I actually totally forgot to tell you guys about the family from Quiche that came up a few weeks ago to visit Elder Espina. They have a 20 –year-old son with Down Syndrome who always makes the missionaries who live with them eggs with corn flakes. He thinks he is a professional chef. That would be cool if I ended up getting called to Quiche, but then again, it might make me miss Leah too much.

That it awesome to hear that Dad has got that missionary spirit back again in his new calling as Ward Mission Leader! There is no other work that can bring someone so much satisfaction, which is why you got to get that missionary spirit going of yours as well, mom. You are the bomb when it comes to befriend people, and helping people feel loved.

Okay, gotta go! Until next week!

Leave a Reply

